Organizational Chart of the Islamic Republic of Iran

The Expediency Council

The Expediency Council is an advisory board for the supreme leader and settles disputes between Iran’s parliament and Guardian Council over legislation. If the Guardian Council disapproves of a bill passed by the parliament, parliament can elect—with a two-thirds majority—to send the legislation to the Expediency Council, which can decide what final form the bill will take. The Expediency Council also has the authority to name a member of the Guardian Council to an interim leadership council consisting of the president and chief justice, should the supreme leader pass away. Former Chief Justice Sadegh Larijani chairs the Expediency Council and Mohammad Bagher Zolghadr, a former deputy commander-in-chief of the IRGC and deputy interior minister, is its secretary. Zolghadr replaced Mohsen Rezaei as secretary, after he held the post for decades. Zolghadr is considered close with Larijani, under whom he also served as deputy judiciary chief for strategic affairs. Members of the Expediency Council include leading personalities of the Islamic Republic, including former presidents, former cabinet ministers, and former legislators, all of whom are directly appointed by the Office of the Supreme Leader.

Chairmen of the Expediency Council:

  • Ali Khamenei
  • Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani
  • Ali Movahedi-Kermani
    Acting Chairman, 2017 and 2018
  • Mahmoud Hashemi-Shahroudi
  • Sadegh Larijani