UANI Statement: Temporary Oil Waivers Given to Countries Operating In Iran

United Against Nuclear Iran (UANI) Chairman Senator Joseph I. Lieberman and CEO Ambassador Mark D. Wallace released the following statement today after it was announced which eight countries would be receiving temporary oil sanctions waivers in Iran:

“UANI applauds the Trump Administration for re-imposing sanctions against Iran, which includes more than 700 entities, banks and individuals. Although oil waivers will be given to China, India, Italy, Greece, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, and Turkey to ease those countries’ exits away from the Iranian oil market, we are encouraged that these waivers will only be temporary and one-time.

"The implementation of a maximum pressure, full economic blockade on Iran is the only way to force the regime to change its malignant behavior. This campaign should include action by SWIFT to disconnect Iranian banks and no repeat of these oil waivers after 180 days. Anything else will continue allowing the world’s leading state sponsor of terrorism to fund its global terror campaign.

"We applaud the President, Secretary Pompeo, National Security Advisor John Bolton, Secretary Perry and Secretary Mnuchin for their leadership on this issue."